Sarahvlp's Blog

Tenacity and gratitude March 10, 2013

Filed under: Uncategorized — Sarah @ 9:55 pm

“Well I won’t back down, no I won’t back down.  You could stand me up at the gates of hell, but I won’t back down.”

Here’s the deal:

te·na·cious

adjective

1.holding fast; characterized by keeping a firm hold (often followed by of  ): a tenacious grip on my arm;tenacious of old habits.
2.highly retentive: a tenacious memory.
3.pertinacious, persistent, stubborn, or obstinate.
4.adhesive or sticky; viscous or glutinous.
5.holding together; cohesive; not easily pulled asunder; tough.
As I turn one year old this week, I was reflecting on all that the past year has brought. Holy Shit.  Its crazy!  Since my last birthday post, I’ve gone back to work, changed jobs, given up my job as a mom for 12 hours a day to someone else(probably the most difficult thing for me ever), kicked my ex-husband out(also incredibly difficult), FINALLY filed papers, and successfully risen above a million and one little challenges…I’d say tenacious is a GREAT word to describe the last year.  Sticking to my guns, sticking to my girlies, and persistent, stubborn and holding fast to everything I value.  I’m proud to say another year has past and I’ve come out on top again.
This past weekend I spent in Moab UT.  Remember that whole “making my dreams come true”?  Moab was on my list of places to go.  I made it happen. =)  I spent the weekend with a friend of mine.  We laughed, teased, and bugged the crap out of each other, as well as hiked through some of the most uniquely gorgeous scenery I’ve ever seen.  It was blissful.  Exactly what I needed to re-prioritize and realize again, what I NEED in life, and making what WANT happen.
On par with the rest of my life, I thought this weekend. A LOT.  A lot about myself and where the hell I’m going.  A lot about where I’ve been in the last year(or not been).  A lot about the people I’ve surrounded myself with.  A lot about each of those people, their individual struggles and how much they mean to me; how much I gain from having every single person in my life, adding what they do to my journey and experience.  I feel so blessed to be surrounded by some of the most exceptional people on the face of the planet.  To be encouraged, inspired, delighted, and changed, every day by those that surround me.  Thank you to each one of you.  The last year was a ride for me, but it was filled with love, and happiness, and JOY.  Because every time I was ever down, I had someone stop by my house, and bring flowers, or dinner, or ice cream.  Every time I wanted to(figuratively) toss in my towel and be done with the BS of life, one(or more) of my amazing friends came to my rescue with a text, a phone call, something in the mail, a smile, a Facebook post, and many other thoughtful gestures. Sometimes I wonder how its possible to live such a happy life.  And then I remember, I’ve chosen to surround myself with awesome people, and when you surround yourself with great people, you have no choice but to rise to the occasion.  I don’t show nearly enough gratitude; to those in my life, and to the universe for allowing me to cross paths with the people I have, even if our paths divert, and go separate ways eventually.  I’m still so grateful.
Here’s to another year of tenacious adventures!
All my love,
Sarah
 
 

Leave a Reply

