Sarahvlp's Blog

Phoenix, Kindergarten and another trip home! August 24, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Sarah @ 5:00 pm

I’m sitting in the Phoenix airport on a long layover before I get home… home meaning the South.  I’m going back for yet another wedding and as usual, I’ve met the most interesting people along the way!  This always seems to happen!  The last time I was in Phoenix was January 2005.  Thinking about how different my life is now, to back then is just crazy.  Phoenix reminds me of all the reasons I was not ready to be in a relationship.  Phoenix reminds me of why I hate family road trips.  Phoenix reminds me of the Fiesta Bowl.  I hate football.  It reminds me to never compromise who I am again.  FOR.ANYONE.  Phoenix reminds me of forgiveness too.  That even when people are hideous, you can still choose to be above the trash.  That seems to be a theme that life allows me to learn a lot.

Kindergarten…oh my goodness.  I can’t believe that started today.  Luckily I was able to be around for the first day.  We took T in, she whimpered some and asked me to stay, teared up and begged me to stay and I had to stand up and go… one of the hardest things for me.  Metaphorically, today marked such a huge change in my life that it gets me all teary thinking about things.  In no time T will be in high school, and then off making her own decisions.  I just hope I can do an adequate job of making sure she knows how amazing she is!  When I get back, things will change even more, and that I’m not looking forward to.

This trip home will be shorter, but no less full of great friends that are like family.  Lunch dates, a dinner just for me and of course, watching my sister get married… I’m so excited!  I can’t wait to go home, get away from SLC and be me for a few days.  I must admit, its nice to just be Sarah again for a couple of days.  I’m so blessed to be able to go back, to have someone I love and trust be with the girls while I’m gone.  Life is amazing.

Till I get home!

S

 

Leave a Reply

