Sarahvlp's Blog

April Showers May 5, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — Sarah @ 9:42 am

How can it be that my last post was almost a month ago?!  April flew by, but yet dragged on in ways I could have never imagined.

While there was a lot of moisture in Utah in April, the title of this post is more referring to life’s shit storm that was April.  April brought another massive surgery with a hellacious recovery.  April brought the death of two great men, whose daughters I’m very close to.  April brought more behavior struggles with Victoria.  April brought tons of school crap for D.  April brought that *fabulous* chest cold during my surgery recovery.  Seriously… the list could go on and on.

My problems though are so inconsequential when I look at the losses two of my dearest friends and their families suffered.  My dear friend Laura lost her relatively young father very suddenly.  Though I’ve never met Lee, his daughter is like my sister, indeed numbered among my family.  She has been there for me through so much and I can only imagine the kind of man he must have been.

The loss of “Tom Senior” also hit very close to home.  Nichole and Tom are some of mine and D’s greatest friends.  They are our family.  They were kind enough to let us be part of such an intimately painful part of their lives.   It was my privilege to be there with Tom Sr. and his amazing family through his last days.  What a great man with such a wonderful legacy.  Being able to be there for my friends was such a great lesson to teach my children about the cycles of life, and the dedication you should have to your family- blood relatives or not.

I’m still digesting all that was April.  I’m still trying to wrap my mind around how so many, many things happened in such a small span of time.

April brought about a lot of discussion between D and I about T’s therapy and the sexual abuse that occurred.  While looking through my stats I realized some of D’s family has been “stalking” this blog.  Do I care?  NOPE!  Look away assholes.  I hope the world knows how perverted and disgusting you are.  I realize that some of the gossip mongers have shared the link to this and you know, I’m glad.  I’m glad that you are now aware how disgusting D’s parents are.  I hope you choose to protect your children instead of ignoring it.  D and I knew the day would come when eventually his siblings all found out about this.  It’s their prerogative to believe it or not.  All we know is the truth that happened to our daughter, and what it’s done to our family.  We will stand firmly next to her, choosing to believe her and support her- because both have us have seen the effects of what happens when lies are perpetuated.

In closing… as a reminder more for myself than anyone else, I swear,  I will post pictures and a brief summary of Oklahoma soon!  I need to get on it… I’ll be back out there in a few months with more pictures and more stories! =)

I certainly hope May brings less stressful memories, and that April’s lessons can be learned and archived… I’d like to never go through some of those experiences again.  I’m so grateful for such an awesome family of friends to be surrounded with.  They truly lift me up when things are crappy and I’m so lucky to be surrounded by such awesome people.  Nichole and Laura- Thanks for being my sisters.  I’m infinitely blessed by the presence of you and your families in my life!  I love you guys!

 

2 Responses to “April Showers”

  1. Oh Miss Sarah…

    This morning when I awoke and thought about how I wanted to create my day, I felt divinely guided to go to Beans & Brews – an EXACT location, at that. It’s been months and months since I’ve sat in this lobby and I had no idea why I was being led to sit here and be patient.

    When you walked in with your beautiful daughter in tow I felt happy. It reminded me of when I would do the very same thing with my daughter and, for a moment, I had huge waves of Momma Love and Homesickness for the younger days when she thought I was the sun, the moon and all that was holy. 🙂

    I am truly grateful to have met you and look forward to what is next in the cards for us. It sounds as though you’ve had quite the month and I appreciate your frankness. Sending love and healing energy to you.

    Thank you for touching my life.

    ~Angie

  2. Laurita Says:

    Ahh Nichole and I are so blessed to have you in our lives and have your support. You are always there for us when we need you the most. Thank goodness it is May-a new month and a new beginning!


Leave a Reply

