Sarahvlp's Blog

holy cow! June 21, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Sarah @ 2:02 pm

It’s been far too long since this poor blog was updated!

This last month I’ve been a busy, busy gal!

Mayne Street’s stuff was recently in the opening of The Sweet Tooth Fairy in Foothill Village, which was super exciting!!!  This month has also been packed full of little trips out with the girls.  We went to the Chalk Art Festival Downtown, we’ve been out with Nichole and her babies for countless trips to the park, and we even toured a candy factory with all 4 kids(all 4 and under might I add).

My trip home is in about a week and I’m not sure which I am more- excited beyond belief or scared sh*tless to leave my kids for an entire week!  They’ll be in good hands though and I know there will be plenty of communication.  I really am looking forward to getting out by myself and having an identity besides, “Mumma” for a week.  It’s been so long, that when I think about it, it’s a little daunting!  What am I supposed to talk about besides my girls!?!?  =)  Just kidding.  Thankfully, the last 6 months or so I’ve found myself again and it’s so refreshing!

In other areas, I’m still reading this book and I LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!  It’s brought me so much clarity already.  In recent months I’ve realized just how toxic people in your life can be.  Dave and I are now on such better terms, even though there is still no marriage there.  Our friendship is slowly being rebuilt and it’s been so incredibly pleasant.  It really is like getting to know a whole new person.  The man I married did not exist, and it’s been a breath of fresh air to get to know the real person that’s been alive inside.  He’s a much better Daddy, and human being now than he was 6 months ago.  I’m so proud of him and glad that I can still call him a friend.  I’m not sure what the future holds, but I’m ecstatic that we will be there for each other no matter what happens.

It’s been a process lately to figure out which relationships in my life I want to continue.  Never before have I felt so empowered and awesome about who I am.  No kidding- I can pretty much thank one person for helping me on that journey of self discovery- my shrink, Carrie.  She’s PHENOMENAL.  It took me a long time to be able to admit that I see a therapist for mental health reasons, but I’ve been able to see just how beneficial it is and not something to be ashamed of.  Those reasons, coupled with the fact that she’s assured me I do not have anything wrong with me; no mental disorder, I’m not out of touch with reality, etc etc.

It’s taken me YEARS to find someone who is as adept at understanding me and where my frustrations lie and where I feel like my time isn’t being wasted.  There’s this freaky bond between the two of us, much akin to one of my best friends that can read my mind before I even have to explain myself.  I go in about twice a month and no joke, it’s like talking to an older, wiser friend who has a 3rd party, detached perspective on my life.  The advice she gives is unbiased and comes from a place much more calm than where I’ve received guidance from before.  She doesn’t push me or make me feel manipulated into doing something because she thinks it’s the best decision.  Never before in my life have I had a relationship where I feel like ultimately every decision I make is not going to possibly ‘break” our relationship or make her disapprove of me.  There is no manipulation or mental games and HOLY COW DOES IT FEEL AWESOME!  I wish everyone in the world was able to each have a person like Carrie to talk to.  It would be a much more pleasant place to live and people would be so much happier.

On that note, if you’re in the Salt Lake Valley and need a good reference for a therapist- let me know!

I highly doubt that an update will come before I leave for my trip, so I’m not promising anything, but I’ll post plenty of pics when I get back!! Au revoir!

 

Leave a Reply

