Sarahvlp's Blog

Portland May 26, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Sarah @ 5:58 pm

 

This post is LONG overdue, but I’ve been a little busy, and a few little things have come up in the last month. 

Without further ado, here are some of my highlights!

Pardon the buggy windshield here, but this is by far the prettiest part of the drive.  The Hood River is to the right, with mountains and a wind farm to the left.  You can’t see the wind farm here, but it was SO cool to drive right next to the massive turbines!

This is at my little brother’s school.  Crazy to me this kid is almost 16 now, and with a definite personality of his own.  Crazy to me that I have my own kids now that I distinctly remember being the same age as him.  He used to call me mom.  He will forever be my kid brother…. speaking of…..

Pardon the overexposure, I’m not really sure what was going on with my camera here… BUT, this is me, holding him.  He towers over me now around 5’10.  Crazy business!

This is the dog… his name is BG.  It stands for Bartholomew Gus.  In short, my Aunt came to watch us while my parents went on vacation for a week.  The first night she came home with this guy.  He was just a puppy.  Being that I’m deathly allergic, he’s always been an outside dog.  My little sister Jenny wanted to name him Bartholomew and call him Bart, and I said Gus.  So we put them together, and BG it was.  He’s a good boy!  He knows not to come onto the rug that’s in front of the front door!

This is Aunt Jenny showing T baby bunnies.  Aunt Jenny, my younger sister, volunteers with the 4-H kids in their town.  One of their projects is showing bunnies… in this barn, there are EASILY 400+bunnies.  It’s insanity!

You know the term “multiply like rabbits”…. Yeah… it’s TOTALLY accurate.  There were about 15 momma’s that had just had babies!

They also had these super cute pigs!!!!  Aren’t they adorable!?

This ugly goat was also there… and those cages?  Yeah, they’re ALL rabbits.

This is the overcast view from the barn.  It’s very green, this picture does it little justice!

This thing is also a goat.  More specifically her name is Winnie and she’s the closest thing I have to a niece from my sister Jessica and her husband David.  She’s a weird looking thing, but Jessica shears her and is going to use her wool for making yarn. 

This is Winnie on her tree stump.  That stump is not very big and she manages to perch herself up there and just look around a bleep.  It’s crazy business.

These are some of Auntie Jess’ chickens!  She has about a half dozen and the girls loved checking them out!  Apparently this chicken has a rough time because of her wild hair.  She runs into stuff and can’t see because her tuft of hair covers her eyes!

And lastly… this is my family.  All of us.  Pretty crazy huh!?  See that pink box in the bottom right hand corner?!  That is one of the coolest things I’ve ever seen.  Auntie Jess hand-stitched the girls a play cake set.  Everything is felt and so the little decorations she’s made stick to the side of the cake.  It has three sizes of cakes and their pans, an oven mitt, a cakestand with the base stuffed full of little felt cut outs, and of course, the traditional pink box with a monogrammed “P” on it.  It’s pretty freakin’ sweet.  Auntie Jess gives the coolest, most thoughtful gifts

And that about wraps Portland up… coming soon-SEATTLE!!!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

