Sarahvlp's Blog

Peace February 22, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Sarah @ 1:35 am

This has been pretty elusive for me recently.  I feel like I have a handle on things in my brain and then something switches it up a bit and makes me wonder if I’m really considering all of what life has to offer.  Obviously that’s an impossible feat, but it’d be nice to feel like I had a concrete notion to which I felt inclined to work towards.  And not that I’m not working towards something, because I am, but a more definitive plan would be more desireable than the current predicament.

One thing I did realize today is that it’s been probably over a month since I’ve unburied my beloved and tinkled her keys.  This thing is a beast and is oft mistaken for a hutch or a desk.  No, no, its my most prized purchase since coming to UT.  I found it on Craigslist, like many other awesome things…our barbecue, my first freelance writing gig that I did while pregnant with C, an awesome Filipino friend with a pretty badass story about life.  Craigslist just might be my favorite website.  It’s a phenomenon in and of itself. 

Anyway, I glanced over today and realized my steal of a deal beauty has been neglected for far too long, and so has my talent.  In recent years things have just placed themselves in the way of being able to play uninterrupted for hours on end.  When I lived by myself, my escape from reality would be heading to the music building on UCO’s campus and locking myself in a practice room for a couple hours.  This room was my solace and where I could pound the keys as hard as I wanted, to vent some frustration about my troubles.  I’ve played the piano since I was 5.  Though I’m by no means a concert pianist, it’s always been a passion of mine, and a passion that’s been forgotten about far too frequently when life gets too busy.  So my goal tomorrow is to get up and find her quickly so that intermittently with the girls, I can brush up on a couple favorite songs. 

What’s your peace and where does it come from?

 

Leave a Reply

