Sarahvlp's Blog

for my girls February 4, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Sarah @ 10:17 am

The last few weeks around this house have been a *little* challenging for me.  I feel like there’s been quite a bit of change in the last 6 months or so and much of it cannot be controlled by me.  The last few weeks with the girls have also been really difficult.  They’ve tested my patience and sanity in new ways every day!  And just when I can’t imagine what next they could possibly do to test it, they invent a new way!  However, I still love them SO.MUCH. 

I cannot imagine my life without them.  I cannot imagine feeling whole if one of them were not with me.  Nothing in life brings me more pure joy then they do.  Even when T decides to give herself and C a haircut.  Even when T decides its a fabulous idea to sit on the couch with her legs INSIDE the couch cushion, under the fabric, like its the newest blanket around this joint!  Even when C decides to rip off her diaper and pee everywhere.  Or when she decides to “help” clean and pulls out each and every last disinfecting wipe, even though she knows she’s not supposed to climb up to reach them or ever TOUCH them.  Between these two I’m pretty sure they could rip something off the ceiling if we were to put it there!

Being the paranoid person that I am, I often think about if I were to not be around or something were to leave me unable to communicate my feelings, if I have done enough for them in this short while to show them how much they mean to me.  I choose to stay home and make do off of D’s meager(at best) income for the time being because there is NO ONE ELSE I want raising them.  I realize thats a luxury, but it also comes with a price.  Never in my wildest dreams did I ever realize how much work it is staying home and raising kids.  I think it can be done with little effort and with little involvement- in fact, I know it can.  I realize it could be an easy job, but I choose to devote all my time, energy and efforts to my girls.  I want to.  I want nothing more than to give them the world and everything in it.  And at the end of the day, when I think about life and all the meaningful things in it and all of my blessings, my children are my #1 and that is why it makes all the sacrifice, the tested patience, the botched haircuts, the cleaning of the carpets at least once a week, and the 15 loads of laundry every weekend, all worth it. 

If there were some reason that left me incapable of communicating to my sweet T and C what I wanted them to know about life and love and me, I’d say these lyrics sum it up pretty well.  Because as long as I live, they will never be alone, I will always be there for them.  I would want them to also know that good friends are worth more than gold and those friendships become way more precious than gold as more time and trials pass.  That smiling is infectious and that both of them have two of the cutest smiles I’ve ever seen.  That while its fun to win, its more important to be gracious in your winnings.  That when they stumble, I will always be there- failure is an inevitable part of life and it’s not truly failure unless you don’t learn a lesson.   That wherever they go my love will always be there and so will I.  I love them more than life; I always have and always will.

Watch the video here

“Never Alone” -Lady Antebellum feat. Jim Brickman

May the angels protect you
Trouble neglect you
And heaven accept you when it’s time to go home
May you always have plenty
Your glass never empty
Know in your belly
You’re never alone

May your tears come from laughing
You find friends worth having
With every year passing
They mean more than gold
May you win and stay humble
Smile more than grumble
And know when you stumble
You’re never alone

Never alone
Never alone
I’ll be in every beat of your heart
When you face the unknown
Wherever you fly
This isn’t goodbye
My love will follow you stay with you
Baby you’re never alone

Well, I have to be honest
As much as I want it
I’m not gonna promise that cold winds won’t blow
So when hard times have found you
And your fear surround you
Wrap my love around you
You’re never alone

Never alone
Never alone
I’ll be in every beat of your heart
When you face the unknown
Wherever you fly
This isn’t goodbye
My love will follow you stay with you
Baby you’re never alone

May the angels protect you
Trouble neglect you
And heaven accept you when it’s time to go home
So when hard times have found you
And your fear surround you
Wrap my love around you
You’re never alone

Never alone
Never alone
I’ll be in every beat of your heart
When you face the unknown
Wherever you fly
This isn’t goodbye
My love will follow you stay with you
Baby you’re never alone
My love will follow you stay with you
Baby you’re never alone

Girls, you are my life.  You’ve added more than I could ever imagine to it.  I’m so lucky to be your mom and it really is the best job I’ve ever had.  I’m so glad you are my daughters and that you are sisters.  The love you have for each other amazes me every day.  Thank you for being you.  I love you both forever.

 

One Response to “for my girls”

  1. Davie Says:

    Loved it!!! Made me teary-eyed reading it. I could completely feel your love for them. Thank you for be an awesome mommy!


Leave a Reply

